Sorry I am so late posting this.  I started at the end of June and am just now getting done.  :o)

I finally made it to Missouri.  After a long 12 hour drive with my husband, three kids and the dog, we finally made it.  I will have to say that this year I ran across a special treat.  My mother-in-law has a plum tree that is producing plums like crazy.  I hate to say this, but I didn’t even know she had a plum tree. LOL.

I was amazed at all the plums that were just hanging from the tree.  It looked just like a bunch of grapes, but only much bigger.  They were everywhere!!  After seeing how much fruit was available, I immediately started researching on how to make plum preserves and that is just what I made.

I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed being able to step out side in my flip-flops and pick plums with my kids.  My youngest enjoys it the most.  There is just something about finding a ripe plum, wiping it off on your shirt and digging in, it is just heavenly.

Well I wanted to share my adventure with you and I will admit I had no idea what I was doing, but it was a lot of fun!!   My oldest son loved being my assistant and I think we finished by midnight.  I have written out the recipe so I hope you enjoy.

PLUM PRESERVES:  You need about 5 cups of diced plums.  Each plum needs to be seeded, but you can keep the skin on.

 

 

 

Once you collect enough plums, remove the seed and dice. 

 

 

 

 

 

Add plums and 5 cups of sugar to a large sauce pan and stir frequently until the sugar is dissolved.   Once sugar is melted, bring to a rapid boil.

 

 

 

 

As soon as your mixture begins to boil, continue to stir to avoid burning the bottom of your pan.   Continue to stir until mixture thickens.   (this part can take a while)

 

 

 

 

Once your sauce thickens, carefully funnel it into your jars.   Please make sure you use sterile ones to prevent bacteria.  Once your jars are filled, place in boiling water for about 20 minutes.

 

 

 

When you are done boiling your jars, carefully remove them and allow them to cool.  This is when you should hear your lids pop and seal!! 

